So I’ve had a busy weekend away from the bubble, which is why I didn’t manage to update. I was in Glasgow, seeing friends and family, which was great. It was lovely to see everyone and get a break from work.

A selection of my favourite food

My cousins husband, cooked an amazing tea for us on the Saturday night, it was tai chicken curry with noodles, and was absolutely fantastic, I’m going to be stealing the recipe for sure. He’s also amazing at cocktails; he put my pathetic attempts to shame, so Saturday was amazing.

Getting home on Sunday night, I was exhausted, but quite hungry, so after rushing to do the food shopping before everywhere closed I decided to make fondue. This made me very excited for my holiday to Chamonix later this month, where I will hopefully be eating a lot of traditional Savoyard food, and fondue is the perfect example.

Can do cheese fondue

  • Cheese, a mix of hard strong cheese like gruyer and a soft cheese like brie
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • Rosemary
  • White wine
  • Flour
  • Bread for dipping

Three key ingredients

  1. Peel the cloves of garlic and crush with flat of a knife, and then rub around the bottom and sides of the pan. Leave the cloves in the pan, to infuse into the mixture, and deepen the taste.
  2. Then add some white wine, about 200ml depending on how much you are making, turn up the heat and allow the wine to simmer/boil.
  3. While waiting for the wine to boil, chop the cheese into small chunks, and when the wine is boiling, at the cheese a few pieces at a time, making sure you whisk it lots and lots.
  4. Keep whisking until you have a smooth consistency, if needed add a little flour to thicken up the mixture, and season with pepper and rosemary. Serve piping hot in the pan, and eat by dipping chunks of bread into the molten cheese.

This is a simple, yet flashy meal, that will impress, without taking you ages to prepare, plus, it’s so much fun dipping the bread in the cheese and trying to catch the strings. Be careful though it is very easy to overdose on cheese with this recipe.

