Let be Honest I’m always making excuses about this blog, so instead today I am going to make a resolution, to blog more consistently but scale back my posts. No more fluff about my life etc prattling on for a few paragraphs, at least not until I have a life that involves more than, get up, go to PhD, come home coffee, hang out with the girls (1&2 years old), eat watch tv and bed. Strangely with all that time though I haven’t found time to blog, which is annoying, but I guess I am just a very sleepy person. So here is a post about food I cooked in November when I went home for my mothers 50th.

Rosemary and Port Lamb

This is a recipe I have adapted from Nigella, and I’m going to be honest so far I have yet to use port in it, I find that a half and half mixture of red wine and red vermouth works rather well.

Ingredients For two

  • Two table spoons of olive oil
  • A table spoon of  of Worcester sauce
  • Two bone less lamb legs steaks (a bit pricy but this meal is a treat)
  • Half a red onion (use the other half in a couscous salad to accompany the lamb)
  • a 15g Knob of butter or there about
  • Two sprigs of rosemary
  • A fat clove of Garlic or two small ones finely chopped
  • 50ml of red wine mixed with 50ml of red vermouth
  1. Trim the lamb of any fat, then in a bowl mix together the oil and the Worcester sauce  and then cover the steaks with this mixture, I tend to dunk the steaks in it and let them rest a bit.
  2. While the lamb is resting in the mixture, finely chop both the rosemary and the garlic. Cut a red onion in half and chop into small pieces  you only need one half, but the other half can be used to make a cous cous salad, combine the onion with things like sun-dried tomato, pepper olives and mint.

    Frying off the onion, rosemary and garlic

    Frying off the onion, rosemary and garlic

  3. Heat a heavy bottomed non stick frying pan and cook the steaks for about 3 minutes on either side if you like your lamb pinkish like me or a little longer if you prefer it well done. Then wrap in foil and let it rest while you cook the sauce.
  4. In the juices left over from cooking the lamb and any excess oil and Worcester sauce mix, cook the red onion until it softens down, then add the rosemary let that cook in for a minute and add the garlic. Now pour in the wine and vermouth into the pan and let it sizzle stir and then let it reduce down .
  5. Un wrap the steaks from the foil and add the juices the to sauce, then serve steaks covered in the sauce with the cous cous salad  and some green veg or  fancy mushy peas.
A plate full of goodness

A plate full of goodness

